Key Stage 4

In Year 9 students will decide which subjects they will take for their GCSEs. Most students take 9 GCSEs, but some may be able to take more if they are able to, e.g. an additional language such as Arabic.

From Year 10, your child will study five compulsory subjects including Religious Studies GCSE and Core PE (not assessed) as these subjects focus on essential skills and wellbeing and give a balance to the programme of study.

Click here for an overview of the KS4 curriculum by subject

Compulsory subjects

  • English Language and Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Religious Studies
  • Core PE (Exercise, Health and Fitness)

Options subjects in 2021

In addition to these 5 core subjects, students will select further option choices to start in September 2021 (Year 10); they should choose 1 subject from each option block.

We encourage most of our students to leave Year 11 having obtained the English Baccalaureate, or "Ebacc". This means we encourage many students to study either History or Geography and a Language.

Block A 

Block B

Block C

Block D

Geography GCSE  

History GCSE 

Spanish GCSE


Tech Award Hospitality and Catering 


COPE (for selected students only)

Arabic GCSE

Mandarin GCSE

Geography GCSE

History GCSE

Spanish GCSE


Tech Award Travel and Tourism


Employability skills (for selected students only)


Business Studies GCSE

Computer Studies GCSE

Food Prep and Nutrition GCSE


Sociology GCSE


Computing BTEC


Tech Award Health and Social Care

Business Studies GCSE

Drama GCSE

Music GCSE

Psychology GCSE

Design Technology GCSE


BTEC Enterprise 

DT Tech award

Performing Arts BTEC